August 2023 Wrap-Up

August: auto-buy authors, tennis, and the achy breaky hearts of second chance romance…

.

Anybody else seem to be participating in delayed gratification?

I was looking forward to two huge releases from two of my favourite, auto-buy authors all year, and then they were released, and I… Didn’t read them.

In my defence, it’s been an incredibly busy year (see: here and here!), and I’ve not had much time, much less concentration, for reading. It only feels like two days ago I wrote my July wrap. This month has flown in a blur of DIY and hospital visits, and I haven’t had time to catch my breath–I’ve been forgetting where I’ve parked my car. Which, I guess, makes it the perfect month for finally reading those two books I’ve been excited for, and letting my favourite authors get me through! Starting with…

Carrie Soto is Back! Alternate title: Taylor Jenkins Reid is back to steal my heart. I’ve made no secret of my love for TJR, and Carrie has rocketed herself right up there with my favourite heroines. I’ve got a gush about the book in the queue, so I won’t say much right now, but… This came right when I needed it, and I adored it.

.

I had a huge book hangover after Carrie, and plans to read something a little less anticipated… That went right out of the window when my month took a turn for the rough, and I decided not to delay myself anymore joy. Straight into Happy Place! If you’re looking for a read where you can taste the ocean water, hear the creak of cottage floorboards, and ache to conk the main characters’ heads together until they get together… No one does it better than Emily Henry, and this one’s for you.

.

And that, short but incredibly sweet, was my August in books! Continuing in the vein of refusing to delay gratification, I’ve been anticipating autumn all month, and I’m ready for a season of murder mysteries, forest fantasies, and witchy romance. Of course, to do any of that, I’ll need to dig out my autumn TBR from the boxes of books we still haven’t unpacked from the move…

.

How was your reading August?

6 thoughts on “August 2023 Wrap-Up

Add yours

    1. From your words to the universe’s ears, haha! I got to have my first autumnal day today, with a big sweater and a herbal tea. Long live the best season! (Cozy mysteries and pumpkin spice sounds WONDERFUL.)

      Like

  1. The delayed gratification thing is so real! I partially blame Scribd, though – I’d been saving up some of my anticipated reads for my summer break, and now they’re apparently unavailable because I’ve already read too much this past month?? RUDE!! 😭

    But anyway – I hope things calm down a bit for you and that you have a great September! Also, both Carrie Soto and Happy Place are on my TBR, so it’s good to hear some positive things!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How outrageous–I hope you’ve managed to get access to them now! What a crime, haha.

      September has been just the same in terms of relentlessness, but that’s apparently the new normal! I really enjoyed both of my September reads, though, and I hope you enjoy them when you get to them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started