Top Ten Tuesday: (Five) Watery Books

Created by and with thanks to That Artsy Reader Girl! This week’s theme is fitting for the sodden summer we’ve had here in England this year: water!

.

1. The Wicked King by Holly Black
When I say the watery moment in this one still haunts me… My doesn’t-know-how-to-swim, mortally-afraid-of-drowning ass is serious.

2. Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo
So much of it takes place on a boat, hunting a sea serpent, after all!

3. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Funny for a book with ‘fire’ in the title, but this book has one of the most iconic features of water I’ve ever read.

4. It Happened One Summer by Tessa Bailey
Fishing town setting, spicy scenes on fishing boats, a fisherman love interest–you can almost taste the salt water while reading!

5. The Blue Salt Road by Joanne M. Harris
Finishing on a double whammy: I thought this was going to be a seaside mermaid book, but it’s actually an oceanic selkie affair. Still water!

.

What’s the strongest watery book memory you have?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: (Five) Watery Books

Add yours

    1. Hahaha–I think it’s just that I can’t swim, and the potential for water trauma sticks it in my mind! (It’s the beach/rainforest/hell scape arena. Water that spins like the hands of a clock, and offers up blood rain once every 12 hours. PASS.)

      Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started