Top Ten Tuesday: (Five) Recent Additions to My Bookshelves

Created by and with thanks to That Artsy Reader Girl! This week’s theme is a freebie, and I thought I’d use it to do something everyone else did about a month ago: share my bookish Christmas 2022 haul!

.

1. Pride and Premeditation by Tirzah Price
This was the first I read of my Christmas haul, and it was SUCH a good start to my 2023 reading. Fun, funny, and full of quotes from its inspiration!

2. Demon in the Wood by Leigh Bardugo and Dani Pendergast
I seek spoilers out, so it says something that I haven’t even opened this, to avoid being spoiled of the beautiful art before I fully experience it. That’ll be in March, to celebrate the release of Shadow and Bone season two–I can’t wait!

3. The Blue Salt Road by Joanne M. Harris
I was looking for this all last summer, and couldn’t find it–I think I’ll save it to read this summer, because there’s something about mermaids that seems inherently summery? But it’s good to know it’s ready and waiting for me!

4. Harri Potter a Maen yr Athronydd (Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, Welsh translation) by J.K. Rowling
I started learning Welsh last year–and it struck me, looking around bookshops on holiday in Wales, how fun it would be to put my Welsh to the test by reading the translation of a book I know intimately. It’s also an excuse to have a new Harry Potter cover, but who’s counting?

5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling, Jim Kay, and Neil Packer
This one, I have already flipped through. And Jim Kay’s Luna Lovegood did not disappoint.

.

What books have recently made it onto your shelves?

37 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: (Five) Recent Additions to My Bookshelves

Add yours

  1. Wow you’re learning Welsh? Is it as difficult as it seems from reading it? I’m learning Spanish at the moment and have thought about trying translations of books I know well, I think Harry Potter would probably be the only series I’ve read that many times that I would understand it even if I didn’t understand the exact words. I also have Demon On The Wood on my shelves and plan to read it soon, potentially in the runup to the new season of Shadow and Bone but maybe after if I find watching the series puts me in the mood for some new Grisha content.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2023/01/31/top-ten-tuesday-405/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am! Some parts of it are easy, in that the words are recognisable from English (like the colour yellow is ‘melyn’ in Welsh, which reminds me of yellow melons). But then the orders of sentences are different in a lot of ways (like adjectives usually follow a noun, instead of preceding it, as in ‘a boy terrible’ instead of ‘a terrible boy’). But it’s a beautiful language, and I’m enjoying learning it!

      Definitely give the Spanish translations a go–I’m having a lot of fun determining the story from my knowledge of it and what (little) I know of Welsh! I picked Harry Potter for the same reasons!

      I’m really excited for my Bardugo month. I imagine it’d be fun whichever way you planned to do it!

      Like

      1. Ah that’s great to hear! I remember finding word order very difficult when learning German, it’s one of the reasons I decided to continue on with Spanish instead because that part of it at least is a lot more straightforward.
        I’ll definitely see what I can find, I would like to try and practice a bit more outside of class.
        I’m sure it would be, I guess I’ll see what I have time for, I’m probably more likely to watch the series first though as I tend to get around to TV more quickly than I do books (sorry books!).

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It does make a difference, having to remember things like that! I imagine it could make English quite a hard second language to learn, too.
        Learning through TV subtitles is a great idea, though! Good luck with your Spanish 🙂

        Like

      3. When I did German exchanges at school, the German exchange students I paired with all said that they found English quite easy to learn, but they start much younger there than we do here and I think that makes a real difference. I didn’t start learning German till I was 13! Yes, there are a few Spanish series on Netflix so I’ll see if any of them strike my fancy, I tried Cable Girls a while back but couldn’t really get into that. Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I definitely think that would help! I’m a tutor, and it always amazes me when I teach young kids whose second language is English, to see them switch so fluently between the two.

        Like

    1. Hahaha I did have some issues with that at the start! My fiance bought me a book on Welsh grammar, and that helped a lot to realise the rules, so I can’t take all the credit, haha. Thank you so much!

      Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started