Top Ten Tuesday: (Five) Books I’d Like to Write 

Created by and with thanks to That Artsy Reader! This week’s theme is a freebie, and it comes fresh off the heels of a writing experiment I’m trying in 2022. Every autumn, I look forward to National Novel Writing Month, and I enjoyed 2021’s so much I decided one a year wasn’t enough–so this year, as well as November’s official NaNo, I’m doing my own personal writing months in March and July, aiming to write 30,000 words each month. NaNoWriMo, but make it less, and just for me!

March’s was an absolute blast, and it’s got me thinking of all the things I’d like to write–and that’s the topic of this week’s freebie!

.

1. A heist story (ala Six of Crows)
I’m not saying I’d be any good at it, or that I wouldn’t drive myself insane trying to do it. I’m just saying I’d like to.

2. A ghost story (ala Rebecca)
My favourite type of ghost stories are the ones where you’re not sure if the ghosts are real or psychological, just like in Rebecca. I’d love to write that haunting a story!

3. A faerie story (ala The Wicked King)
Oh, man. I’ve tried. And if I ever get past the why bother when Holly Black has done it a million times better than I ever could feeling, I might try again…

4. A vampire story (ala True Blood)
Not specifically True Blood–I just think I’d enjoy creating my own tongue-in-cheek take on the vampire myth. Honestly, with how much I love vampires, I’m more surprised I haven’t already tried to write this thing…

5. A Christmas romance (ala In a Holidaze)
This, on the other hand, isn’t an if, but a when. Just a matter of time.

.

What stories do you wish you’d written?

28 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: (Five) Books I’d Like to Write 

Add yours

  1. I love Nanowrimo!! I’m supposed to be participating in Camp Nanowrimo right now, but life keeps getting in the way. Haha! That’s awesome that you’ve set goals to write more. You’re inspiring me. 😉 Romance is my favorite genre and every time I finish a Christina Lauren book, I wish I could have written it. They are so much fun! I’ve read In a Holidaze twice now. Happy reading and writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh, that’s so exciting! How is Camp NaNo going, aside from life?! (RELATABLE, by the way. I resented reality SO MUCH during my own makeshift NaNo 😂)
      You are so sweet to say that! ❤️ and YES. Their books are just pure joy!

      Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started