Top Ten Tuesday: (Five) Dynamic Duos

Created by and with thanks to That Artsy Reader! This week’s theme was a lot of fun–except now I’m sad I don’t have a heist buddy/platonic vampire soulmate/parabatai/beloved sister to gossip with…

[Mild spoilers ahead!]

.

26642116. sy475

1. Nina and Inej from Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
These two have some great moments in Crooked Kingdom–especially when Inej’s safety is Nina’s strength for beating parem–but I chose Six of Crows for them because of that brilliant moment where Matthias is lamenting that Nina is “too much”, and Inej entirely has Nina’s back, telling him, in one of my favourite parts of any book ever, that maybe he’s not enough. Get you a girl who will have your back like that.

28933383

2. Kaz and Jesper from Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
Likewise, these two have great moments in Six of Crows; but I picked Crooked Kingdom for the part where Kaz calls Jesper by his late brother’s name–and you realise Jesper has become a brother to Kaz. My heart.

8073282

3. Eric and Pam from the True Blood/Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire Mysteries series by Charlaine Harris
Taking a break from the feelings-laden friendships of the Crowsverse to admire these two: savvy, sarcastic, sharp-witted vampires who have gone through the ages having each other’s backs, and still have the capacity for brutal banter. (I think I loved them even more in the TV series, but I’ll take them either way!)

17699853

4. Cordelia and Lucie from Chain of Gold by Cassandra Clare
Andddd back to the feels! I could’ve chosen a lot of parabatai here, but there’s something about these parabatai-in-training that resonates with me. I suspect it’s to do with Lucie writing Cordelia into an adventure story all of her own…

110844

5. Lizzie and Jane from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
They don’t have superpowers, or supernatural origins, but they’re dynamic all the same. The letters. Being each other’s late-night confidants. Going to bat for each other’s happiness, no matter how many rich suitors they have to shoot down because of it. You don’t have to be supernatural to be super.

.

Who are your favourite bookish dynamic duos?

29 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: (Five) Dynamic Duos

Add yours

  1. The scene where Kaz calls Jesper by his brother’s name!! I listened to the audiobook and literally burst into tears at that bit – the build up was so good! Love Inej and Nina and Lizzie and Jane too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started