Top Ten Tuesday: (Five) Books to Read If You Love/Loved X

Created by and with thanks to That Artsy Reader! This week’s theme is a type of blog post I love to read, but turns out I have NO talent for creating. So I offer a mirror image: here are five books I loved so much, I’d love to read more like them–please give your recommendations!

.

55920637. sy475

1. The Soulmate Equation by Christina Lauren
I’ve never met a Christina Lauren book I didn’t love, and I’ll take any recs for romance authors who come even close to their style–but specifically if you’ve got any romances with a tight-knit family and a borderline commitment-phobic heroine, send them my way!

50212494. sy475

2. The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary
Wanted: inner-city romances, preferably London-based, featuring excursions to tiny beach towns…

40554141

3. Daisy Jones and The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid
Look, we all know Taylor Jenkins Reid is inimitable, and in any other hands, the documentary-format of this one might have been exhausting rather than brilliant. So I’ll settle for recs for angsty romances between musicians, if you’ve got any!

3936300

4. Wicked Game by Jeri Smith-Ready
I haven’t read anything like this in a while, and it makes me miss that late 00s/early 10s vampire trend. On the off chance that I missed any, send me all your funny, tongue-in-cheek vampire romances–or else just send me your vampires with unusual lore. I’ll take all the vampires I can get!

44140764. sy475

5. Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo
Two words to end this search for recs: dark academia.

.

What books have you read lately that you’d recommend?

33 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: (Five) Books to Read If You Love/Loved X

Add yours

  1. I’d totally take recommendations for things in these directions as well! 🤗
    Since I don’t read a lot of romance outside of exam time, I highly doubt I’ll have read anything there that you haven’t already picked up. I do really like Talia Hibbert’s and Emily Henry’s books, but you probably already know about them 😉
    As for angsty romances between musicians, I’d recommend Where She Went, the sequel to Gayle Forman’s If I Stay.
    And Dark Academia – that’s totally my thing! If We Were Villains, The Betrayals, and The Secret History are some of my favorites. And I’ve heard The Atlas Six is really good, although I haven’t read it yet myself…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great minds, haha!
      I love that you read romance in exam season–it’s such a destresser! I’ve read two of Emily Henry’s this year, and Beach Read was my favourite–I’ve been wanting to try out the Brown sisters books for ages though, thanks for the reminder! 🙂
      Oh my GOD, Where She Went destroyed me about as hard as If I Stay did! I love that duology, even though they absolutely ruined me, haha .
      Thank you for the dark academia recs!! The Secret History is on my radar, but I’ll be checking the rest out 🙂 you are a wealth of great recs, my friend!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so glad you also liked Where She Went! I’ve heard so many people say they hate it and complain that it ruins the characters from If I Stay, but I actually love it even more than the first book 😂 It’s so wonderfully angsty and emotional!
        And I hope you enjoy the dark academia recs!
        Also, regarding vampires – Katie Wismer is currently writing a new adult vampire series called The Marionettes, which I’ve been beta reading. It’s got similar vibes to early 2000s stuff
        like Vampire Diaries or Vampire Academy, so maybe you’d enjoy it? The second book is set to come out in a couple of weeks, so it’ll probably take some time before the series is finished, though…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Nooo! I didn’t think it ruined a thing–except for me, haha, it broke me all over again!
        The Marionettes sounds definitely like my sort of thing with those comparisons, I’ll have to check it out!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m also pretty terrible at these “if you like x, you might like y” recommendation posts 😂 If someone enjoys an author’s book I usually tell them to check out the author’s other books! Like TJR and CLo’s books are all awesome 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so underrated! I’m almost scared to reread in case I’ve overhyped it in my own mind, haha. Which coincidentally is also how I feel about Kelley Armstrong’s Darkest Powers series!

      Like

      1. I know that feeling!

        I enjoyed Kelley Armstrong’s Darkest Powers trilogy, as well as the Darkness Rising trilogy that followed it. But my favorites of hers from that era were the main Women of the Otherworld books narrated by Paige. (Dime Store Magic & Industrial Magic) They’re adult and not YA, so they get steamier, but I really like them. She also has a new YA duology set in that universe, Wolf’s Bane and Wolf’s Curse. I think those came out in 2019/2020? I enjoyed them a lot, too.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve had the first Darkness Rising book for about a decade and just not read it–same as Broken and Stolen! I have no idea why, aha. I think I just realised I wasn’t a werewolf kinda gal?

        Like

      3. That does help, and make me wonder why I was convinced she was haha? (I can’t help it; I’m always siding with the vampires. Unless there are witches involved.)

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: